April 30, 2017 | 12:00 pm

May 1, 2017 | 4:00 pm


Nittany Lion Inn

Sunday, April 30

12-1 Boxed Lunch

1-2:20: The Causes and Consequences of Agricultural Specialization in Brazil

Presenter: Heitor Pellegrina

Discussant:  Trevor Tombe

2:20-2:30 Coffee Break

2:30-3:50 Talent, Geography, and Offshore R&D

Presenter: Jingting Fan

Discussant: Kamran Biliar

3:50-4:10 Coffee Break

4:10-5:30 Factor Biased Multinational Production

Presenter: Chang Sun

Discussant: Aaron Flaaen

6-9: Dinner at the Home of Jonathan Eaton

Monday, May 1

9-10:20 “Value Added and Productivity Linkages across Countries”

Presenter: Francois deSoyres

Discussant: Javier Cravino

10:20-10:30 Coffee Break

10:30-11:50 “Why Special Economic Zones? Using Trade Policy to Discriminate Across Importers”

Presenter: Matthew Grant

Discussant: Emily Blanchard

11:50-1 Lunch

1:00-2:20 “The Value of Face-to-Face: Search and Contracting Problems in International Trade”

Presenter: Meredith Startz

Discussant: Ameet Morjari

2:20-2:40 Coffee Break

2:40 - 4:00 “Innovation, Knowledge Diffusion, and Selection”

Presenter: Danial Lashkari

Discussant: Eduardo Morales



George Alessandria

University of Rochester

Kamran Bilir

University of Wisconsin

Emily Blanchard

Dartmouth University

Cindy Chen

Brown University

Javier Cravino

University of Michigan

Svetlana Demidova

McMasters University

Francois de Soyres

Toulouse University

Jonathan Eaton

Penn State University

Jingtin Fan

University of Maryland

Aaron Flaaen

Federal Reserve Board

Farid Farrokhi

Purdue University

Cecila Feiler

University of Pennsylvania

Michael Gechtner

Penn State University

Matthew Grant

Yale University

Kala Krishna

Penn State University

Ahmad Lashkaripour

Indiana University

Gary Lyn

Iowa State

Fernando Monte

Georgetown University

Jon McLaren

University of Virginia

Nitya Pandalai Nayar

University of Texas-Austin

Heitor Pellegrina

Brown University

Carlos Raimierez

George Mason University

Andres Rodriguez-Clare

UC, Berkeley

Kim Ruhl

Penn State University

Lucas Scottini

Brown University

Meredith Startz

Yale University

Chang Sun

Princeton University

Ling Hui Tan

International Monetary Fund

Jim Tybout

Penn State University

Trevor Tombe

University of Calgary

Mike Waugh

New York University

Laurence Wicht

Brown University

Stephen Yeaple

Penn State University

Click here for a printer-friendly version.